[SJWF Logo Image]                                         
Conservation is > > > Wise Use

 

Home Feedback Contents Search 3-Gun Club Bang-Galore Rifle SJDPA I'm With Rosco Rimfire Challenge Tres Rios Bandidos Shotgun Range Youth Airgun

Legislation 
 

Home

2021 NM Legislative Session Gun Control Bills

HB 166 Unlawful Manufacture, Possession, Distribution of Firearms.   Makes fourth degree felons out of anyone who-
  •  manufactures, produces or otherwise ASSEMBLES a firearm without having an FFL.
  •  makes a firearm from a 80% receiver.
  •  makes any component of firearms using a 3D printer.
  •  possesses any firearm or component that meets the above.
  •  sells any of the above.

Text of bill is here:
https://nmlegis.gov/Legislation/Legislation?Chamber=H&LegType=B&LegNo=0166&year=21.

HB-193 Extreme Risk Firearm Protection Order Act Modification (Red Flag). Allows Law Enforcement to act as complainant in ERFPOs without having another complaining party. In other words, LE can now initiate an ERFPO without there being any other evidence than his/her belief. Removes what little "Due Process" that remains in the current law.

Text of bill is here:
https://nmlegis.gov/Legislation/Legislation?Chamber=H&LegType=B&LegNo=193&year=21.

SB-224 Unlawful Firearms Storage.

  •  If one fails to properly secure a firearm in the home subjects the owner to fines up to $1,000.
  •  Children under the age of 12 and who have not attended an approved safety course cannot handle or possess a firearm. Fines up to $1,000 apply.
  • If someone steals a firearms that is not properly secured: fines to a $1,000.
  •  If the stolen firearm results in the thief committing a crime, the owner is subject to fines and jail time.

Text of bill is here:
https://nmlegis.gov/Legislation/Legislation?Chamber=S&LegType=B&LegNo=224&year=21.

A list of other bills and legislation may be found at https://www.nmlegis.gov/Legislation/Legislation_List.

Legislative Committees (to be updated):

Senate Public Affairs:

Senator Gerald Ortiz y Pino - (D) - Capitol Phone: (505) 986-4482  Email: jortizyp@msn.com

Senator Jeff Steinborn - (D) - Capitol Phone: (505) 986-4862  Email: jeff.steinborn@nmlegis.gov

Senator Candace Gould - (R) - Capitol Phone: (505) 986-4266  Email: candace.gould@nmlegis.gov

Senator Craig W. Brandt - (R) - Capitol Phone: (505) 986-4385  Email: craig.brandt@nmlegis.gov

Senator Stuart Ingle - (R) - Capitol Phone: (505) 986-4702  Email: stuart.ingle@nmlegis.gov

Senator Antoinette Sedillo Lopez - (D) - Capitol Phone: (505) 986-4389  Email: a.sedillolopez@nmlegis.gov

Senator Elizabeth "Liz" Stefanics - (D) - Capitol Phone: (505) 986-4377  Email: liz.stefanics@nmlegis.gov

House Consumer and Public Affairs:

Rep. Elizabeth "Liz" Thomson - (D) - Capitol Phone: (505) 986-4425  Email: liz.thomson@nmlegis.gov

Rep. Andrea Romero - (D) - Capitol Phone: (505) 986-4254  Email: andrea@andrearomero.com

Rep. Candy Spence Ezzell - (R) - Capitol Phone: (505) 986-4454  Email: csecows@aol.com

Rep. Angelica Rubio - (D) - Capitol Phone: (505) 986-4227  Email: angelica.rubio@nmlegis.gov

Rep. Gregg Schmedes - (R) - Capitol Phone: (505) 986-4453  Email: gregg.schmedes@nmlegis.gov

Senate Judiciary:

Senator Joseph Cervantes - (D) - Capitol Phone: (505) 986-4861  Email: Joseph@cervanteslawnm.com

Senator Daniel A. Ivey-Soto - (D) - Capitol Phone: (505) 986-4270 Email: daniel.ivey-soto@nmlegis.gov

Senator William H. Payne - (R) - Capitol Phone: (505) 986-4703 Email: william.payne@nmlegis.gov

Senator Gregory A. Baca - (R) - Capitol Phone: (505) 986-4877 Email: greg.baca@nmlegis.gov

Senator Ron Griggs - (R) - Capitol Phone: (505) 986-4369 Email: ron.griggs@nmlegis.gov

Senator Linda M. Lopez - (D) - Capitol Phone: (505) 986-4737 Email: linda.lopez@nmlegis.gov

Senator Richard C. Martinez - (D) - Capitol Phone: (505) 986-4487 Email: richard.martinez@nmlegis.gov

Senator Mark Moores - (R) - Capitol Phone: (505) 986-4856 Email: mark.moores@nmlegis.gov

Senator Bill B. O'Neill - (D) - Capitol Phone: (505) 986-4260 Email: oneillsd13@billoneillfornm.com

Senator Mimi Stewart - (D) - Capitol Phone: (505) 986-4726 Email: mimi.stewart@nmlegis.gov

Senator Peter Wirth - (D) - Capitol Phone: (505) 986-4727  Email: peter.wirth@nmlegis.gov

House Judiciary:

Rep. Gail Chasey - (D) - Capitol Phone: (505) 986-4411  Email:  gail@gailchasey.com

Rep. Daymon Ely - (D) - Capitol Phone: (505) 986-4432  Email: daymon.ely@nmlegis.gov

Rep. Eliseo Lee Alcon - (D) - Capitol Phone: (505) 986-4416  Email: eliseo.alcon@nmlegis.gov

Rep. Deborah A. Armstrong - (D) - Capitol Phone: (505) 986-4344  Email: eliseo.alcon@nmlegis.gov

Rep. Micaela Lara Cadena - (D) - Capitol Phone: (505) 986-4210  Email:  micaela.cadena@nmlegis.gov

Rep. Christine Chandler - (D) - Capitol Phone: (505) 986-4226  Email: christine.chandler@nmlegis.gov

Rep. Zachary J. Cook - (R) - Capitol Phone: (505) 986-4243  Email: zachary.cook@nmlegis.gov

Rep. Brian Egolf - (D) - Capitol Phone: (505) 986-4782  Email:  brian.egolf@nmlegis.gov

Rep. Dayan Hochman -Vigil - (D) - Capitol Phone(505) 986-4336  Email: dayan.hochman-vigil@nmlegis.gov

Rep. Georgene Louis - (D) - Capitol Phone: (505) 986-4356  Email:  georgene.louis@nmlegis.gov

Rep. Matthew McQueen - (D) - Capitol Phone: (505) 986-4423  Email:  matthew.mcqueen@nmlegis.gov

Rep. Greg Nibert - (R) - Capitol Phone: (505) 986-4211  Email:  greg.nibert@nmlegis.gov

Rep. William "Bill" Rehm - (R) - Capitol Phone: (505) 986-4214  Email:  bill.rehm@nmlegis.gov

Rep. James G. Townsend - (R) - Capitol Phone: (505) 986-4758  Email:  townsend@pvtn.net

If you have questions, call or email Steve White, 505-320-3048, webmaster@sjwf.org.

Send mail to webmaster@sjwf.org with questions or comments about this web site.
Copyright 2001 San Juan Wildlife Federation
Last modified: January 07, 2020